The Five Stages of Grief -> During the COVID-19 Crisis?


For several years now, many people thought that Dr. Elisabeth Kubler-Ross’ “Five Stages of Grief” were supposed to happen in a ‘linear way’. More specifically, these stages were used to help someone mourning the death of a loved one.

Briefly, these stages included:

  1. Denial (& Isolation)
  2. Anger
  3. Bargaining
  4. Depression
  5. Acceptance

After the stages ended, grief was supposedly put in it’s final resting place and people no longer needed to mourn their loved one.

Over the years, Dr. Kubler-Ross and her co-author David Kessler, explored the stages further. They came to the conclusion that the ‘Stages of Grief’ can not only happen in a different order, but also affect people who are grieving any type of loss. This included the loss of a job, friendship, personal freedom during COVID-19, or ‘a way of life’ that existed before.

Feelings of sadness, frustration, or general loneliness during the COVID-19 crisis, could be part of the Five Stages of Grief. It can happen to any one of us in an unexpected and unpredictable fashion.

If you find yourself struggling with the COVID-19 crisis and need additional support, please feel free to contact myself or one of our therapists at Serenity Now.

Wishing you good health & wellness!


For additional resources on the Five Stages of Grief, feel free to visit David Kessler’s website: